New Year!


12 days ago, we said goodbye to 2011 and welcomed in the new year. 2012, a blank slate.

For a long time, I was a believer of this. Each new year would come, I would make resolution after resolution, and by the time March passed, all resolutions were tossed aside and forgotten.

This year is different. Although it is a new year, it is not a blank slate, it is just a continuation of exactly what I had been doing before. That is why in September of 2011, I decided to take up running. For years I had committed to the “working out” lifestyle, starting in January, ending sometime between February and March.

I had been reading a Runner’s World in the doctor’s office, and told myself that come January, I’d start running. Ironically, on the next page, was a Nike advertisement. “Just Do It.” covered the entire page. It was the typical “aha!” moment, and the next day, I was at the Nike store buying a new pair of shoes. Four months later, and you can see, these bad boys have been put to good use:

Yes, apparently I fall horribly prey to Nike advertisement, but I’m not opposed. Four months later, I’m still running, I’m still trying to improve – and I don’t plan on stopping.

Thus far, I’ve run ONE race, the Cambridge YuleFest (December 18th, 2011). My time wasn’t terrible, 28:10 [I’m no professional runner, but I was stoked it was less than 30 minutes], but I hope to improve upon that. More importantly, I hope to complete a half marathon before the end of the year.

About kimberlybrussell

Journalism major & sociology minor, finishing up my last year of college.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

