Attitude Adjustment.


Another failed attempt at a 60 minute run!

It’s absolutely a mental block at this point. I’m really struggling to get past this one, dang.

Today’s running started out terribly. I tried running outside, felt like I was slipping the whole time, and only got 2 miles in. I was pissed, so I went back home and did homework.

Class rolled around, and when I returned from class, my roommates were leaving for the gym. I felt a twinge of jealousy, wishing I was a “gym-goer” like them. I’m just not. I’m just getting used to being okay with running the indoor track. The treadmill hurts my legs, the elliptical doesn’t give me the same motivation or workout running does, and I wouldn’t want to do spinning by myself in the middle of our gym.

I ate a bit, and the roomies returned, talking about the class they took. Our school offers fitness classes for $50 a semester, it’s a great deal. There’s Zumba, core training, endurance, abs, fit tests, even yoga. I used to do them regularly, but after taking up running, I didn’t attend, so it wasn’t worth it for me to get it this semester. Plus, my coordination while attempting Zumba was pretty embarrassing…

It’s good to see them working out, and it’s great to be surrounded by people who work out. It totally motivates me, and makes me realize I need to get my arse off the couch as well.

An hour later, I was walking out of the gym, happy to be done and getting covered in rain.
Woohoo! A mile run in 7:45, then 3.4 miles in 30 minutes. Even when I think I have no motivation I can surprise myself.

Running Songs:

My music taste is all over the map, but these songs always keep me running.

Shoot any music recommendations, I’m always looking for tunes to run to…

Ok – NO MATTER WHAT I am signing up for the 10k this week. No longer can I fear this race.

Eeek! It is time…

About kimberlybrussell

Journalism major & sociology minor, finishing up my last year of college.
This entry was posted in Classwork, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

