Looking Ahead!


Good things are ahead, I am so excited.

On March 18th, I will be running Ras na hEireann with my very close friend, Jess Murray. It’s the day after Saint Paddy’s Day, so I’ll have to take it easy whilst celebrating my heritage. Not always a bad thing.

I also signed up for a zombie apocalypse race. Yes. A ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE RACE!

Probably the greatest thing I’ve ever heard of. It’s called Run For Your Lives, and takes place in Amesbury, MA on May 5th, 2012.

I signed up to be a Zombie for it, and was placed as a Stumbler in the first heat (8 AM). I saved $40 by signing up to be a Zombie, which has its perks. I still get a race t-shirt, I still get to run, I get to be transformed into a zombie by makeup ‘professionals’, and I get to chase after people in hopes to eat their brains (aka, pull flags off their belts).

The downsides of being a zombie: my race isn’t officially timed, I am not eligible for awards, and I have to be in Amesbury by 6AM before the race.

Come on, though. I get to chase after fellow runners and act like a zombie. So worth it. I’m hoping to convince some friends to join me, as I think this sounds like too much fun to be done alone.

Check out this girl’s zombie-fication:

I’m thinking of wearing an old ballerina costume. Dainty little BALLERINA ZOMBIE!

It’s like a real-life version of the greatest XBox game ever,  Left 4 Dead. I’m so into it.

About kimberlybrussell

Journalism major & sociology minor, finishing up my last year of college.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

