Beats & Eats


Sometimes, good music is just what you need during your run to push you through the pain. Just when your muscles start to feel that ache that makes you want to give up, that perfect song comes on and your discomfort vanishes with the beat blasting through your headphones.

These are those songs:

On another note, I’ve recently taken up cooking again, a past time I hadn’t been making time for earlier in the semester. I’m a huge snacker, and always looking for new recipes to curb my cravings for chip-like foods. I’ve stumbled upon two through my experiments that remain favorites among my taste-tested friends and I.

The first is “my” infamous popcorn recipe, slightly manipulated from a recipe I found from allrecipes.com. The recipe, submitted by Leo LaLande is pretty perfect, but in addition to the ingredients, I toss in about two tablespoons of powdered ranch dressing mix. My personal preference powdered ranch dressing is Hidden Valley, which I’ve found at any major grocery store.

I just toss it on some stove-top popcorn, which saves bundles of money. Easy guide here, or watch the movie below if you haven’t popped on the stove in the past:

It’s super easy, it’s always a hit, and popcorn is pretty nutritional.

Want to get all the antioxidant benefits from popcorn? Don’t slather in butter, just make my recipe.

The other is another knock off of an allrecipes.com recipe, Kale Chips. I can only take so much kale, so I replaced the kale with fresh baby spinach leaves from Whole Foods. I preheat the oven to 200, took two handfuls of leaves and tossed them with a tablespoon of olive oil, a teaspoon of garlic powder and a few shakes of sea salt. I spread the baking sheet with parchment paper, separated the leaves and spread them out (no overlapping spinach leaves) across the paper. I find they generally cook anywhere between 12 and 20 minutes. I prefer them slightly brown, so I keep them in for longer, but a few of my friends prefer them less crisp, so when I’m serving them, I lean more towards 12-15 minutes.

The nutritional value of spinach is pretty extensive, take a peek at Livestrong’s review of spinach.

About kimberlybrussell

Journalism major & sociology minor, finishing up my last year of college.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

